Bang Showbiz

Doctor Who gets Mr. Men makeover

A SERIES of Mr. Men books are to be released based on the 12 Time Lords in 'Doctor Who'.

The stories, written and illustrated by Adam Hargreaves - whose father Roger Hargreaves made the books famous - will feature one of the 12 Doctors made up as Mr. Men characters on the cover and be titled accordingly, Dr. First, Dr. Second, Dr. Third and so on.

Jan Paterson, head of book and audio publishing at BBC Worldwide UK, said: "We are thrilled to be teaming up with Sanrio on this fantastic project and think that fans will love these creative incarnations of the Doctor reimagined in the 'Hargreaves' style.

"We're always looking for innovative ways to engage our fans so this is the perfect partnership for us."

As well as the books, further related merchandise is expected to drop featuring the Time Lords reimagined as Mr. Men characters.

Alastair McHarrie, licensing director at Sanrio Global, added: "There is a wealth of unofficial fan-created content online.

"We wanted to give something back to these supporters so we've created the first official Hargreaves mash-up.

"Who better to partner with than another classic British property, 'Doctor Who'. We couldn't be more excited."

The first four Mr. Men meets 'Doctor Who' books - which will be based on the First, Fourth, Eleventh and Twelfth Time Lords, who were played William Hartnell, Tom Baker, Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi, who currently portrays the role, respectively - are to be released in spring 2017.