Liverpool's Egyptian midfielder Mohamed Salah (R) celebrates with Sadio Mane
Liverpool's Egyptian midfielder Mohamed Salah (R) celebrates with Sadio Mane

Football's 55-man World XI shortlist named

MOHAMED SALAH and Paul Pogba are among 18 Premier League stars to feature in FIFPro's World XI shortlist.

The list, voted for by 25,000 footballers from 65 countries, includes 55 of the game's best-performing players over the 2017/18 season and the final XI will be announced on September 24.

Salah scored 44 goals in a record-breaking debut season for Liverpool, helping them to the Champions League final, while Pogba excelled in the World Cup as France won their second tournament.

Salah's Liverpool team-mates Virgil van Dijk, Dejan Lovren and Sadio Mane join the Egyptian as they all make their debut on the shortlist, while Philippe Coutinho who left Anfield for Barcelona in January is also in.

Manchester United manager Jose Mourinho has four players on the list, with David De Gea, Nemanja Matic and Romelu Lukaku joining Pogba.

There is surprisingly only three members of Manchester City's squad in with a shot of making the final XI despite their successful Premier League season.

Kevin De Bruyne, who was pipped by Salah for the PFA Player of the Year, David Silva and Kyle Walker are Pep Guardiola's representatives.

The list of 18 Premier League stars does include Yerry Mina, who joined Everton this summer but is yet to play for the Toffees, as well as Coutinho despite his move to La Liga.

Walker was of course an integral part of England's journey to the World Cup semi-final in Russia, with Spurs pair Kieran Tripper and Harry Kane making the cut.

The Three Lions were of course beaten by Croatia in the final four, before France saw off Luka Modric & Co in the final.

Croatia have five on the list while there are seven World Cup winners, including Chelsea's N'Golo Kante and Real Madrid's Rafael Varane.

Varane started the Champions League final win over Liverpool and the other ten Los Blancos stars that began the win in Kiev were voted on to the shortlist.

That of course includes Cristiano Ronaldo, who is joined on the list by usual suspects Lionel Messi, Gianluigi Buffon and Neymar.

Ronaldo and Buffon have made every list since the first World XI in 2004/05 but 16 of last year's shortlist missed out this season, including Leonardo Bonucci.



Goalkeepers (5)
Gianluigi Buffon - Italy, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain
Thibaut Courtois - Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid CF
David De Gea - Spain, Manchester United FC
Keylor Navas - Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF
Marc-Andre ter Stegen - Germany, FC Barcelona
Defenders (20)

Jordi Alba - Spain, FC Barcelona

Dani Alves - Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain

Daniel Carvajal - Spain, Real Madrid CF

Giorgio Chiellini - Italy, Juventus FC

Virgil van Dijk - The Netherlands, Southampton/Liverpool

Diego Godin - Uruguay, Atletico Madrid

Mats Hummels - Germany, FC Bayern Munchen

Joshua Kimmich - Germany, FC Bayern Munchen

Dejan Lovren - Croatia, Liverpool FC

Marcelo - Brazil, Real Madrid CF

Yerry Mina - Colombia, FC Barcelona/Everton FC

Benjamin Pavard - France, VfB Stuttgart

Gerard Pique - Spain, FC Barcelona

Sergio Ramos - Spain, Real Madrid CF

Thiago Silva - Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain

Kieran Trippier - England, Tottenham Hotspur

Samuel Umtiti - France, FC Barcelona

Raphaël Varane - France, Real Madrid CF

Sime Vrsaljko - Croatia, Atletico Madrid/Inter

Kyle Walker - England, Manchester City FC
Midfielders (15)

Sergio Busquets - Spain, FC Barcelona

Casemiro - Brazil, Real Madrid CF

Philippe Coutinho - Brazil, Liverpool/FC Barcelona

Kevin De Bruyne - Belgium, Manchester City FC

Eden Hazard - Belgium, Chelsea FC

Andres Iniesta - Spain, FC Barcelona/Vissel Kobe

Isco - Spain, Real Madrid CF

N'Golo Kante - France, Chelsea FC

Toni Kroos - Germany, Real Madrid CF

Nemanja Matic - Serbia, Manchester United FC

Luka Modric - Croatia, Real Madrid CF

Paul Pogba - France, Manchester United FC

Ivan Rakitic - Croatia, FC Barcelona

David Silva - Spain, Manchester City FC

Arturo Vidal - Chile, FC Bayern Munchen/FC Barcelona
Forwards (15)

Karim Benzema - France, Real Madrid CF

Edinson Cavani - Uruguay, Paris Saint-Germain

Paulo Dybala - Juventus FC, Argentina

Antoine Griezmann - France, Atletico Madrid

Harry Kane - England, Tottenham Hotspur

Robert Lewandowski - Poland, FC Bayern Munchen

Romelu Lukaku - Belgium, Manchester United FC

Mario Mandzukic - Croatia, Juventus FC

Sadio Mane - Senegal, Liverpool FC

Kylian Mbappe - France, Paris Saint-Germain

Lionel Messi - Argentina, FC Barcelona

Neymar Junior - Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain

Cristiano Ronaldo - Portugal, Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC

Mohammed Salah - Egypt, Liverpool FC

Luis Suarez - Uruguay, FC Barcelona


This story originally appeared in The Sun and was reproduced with permission