The Gympie Fire under 19s will take on rival team The Sunshine Coast Fire in Gympie today.
The Gympie Fire under 19s will take on rival team The Sunshine Coast Fire in Gympie today. Contributed

Fire ready for grudge match

GYMPIE'S under-19 Fire have been focusing on their execution in the final third and finishing in training and are ready to take on the Sunshine Coast Fire under-19 side today.

Assistant Coach Andrew Catton said the team's defence and midfield had been doing quite well, but the final third had let them down in the first two games of the season.

"We gave away opportunities and when we haven't scored, we should have," he said.

But Catton is not naive about how hard it will be for the Fire to win at home today.

"It will be a tough match," he told The Gympie Times yesterday.

The Sunshine Coast under-19s won the Queensland State Youth League under 19 competition last year and Gympie is yet to win this season.

The third round against Bundaberg at Bundaberg was washed out.

"We haven't had a win yet, but we are playing good football. We need a bit of luck, once we get our first win we will turn it around."

Catton said he hoped to see a lot of support at One Mile for the Fire today.

"There are two QSL games on. We usually only have one here. It doesn't happen very often and is a good chance to see some quality games," he said.

Before the Fire take the field, Bundaberg will play Logan.

"We've played Logan before, in round one. They're a good team.

"It would be really good to get as many people there as we can and spur the boys onto a win!"

Catch three action-packed football games all at One Mile today.

Bundaberg Spirit takes on Logan Strikers at 3pm

Gympie under-19 Fire tackle Sunshine Coast under-19 Fire at 5pm.

Gympie men clash with Hervey Bay at 7pm.


Team list

Fire under 19

1 Josh Dennis

2 Grant Luhrs

3 Brady Watt

4 Justin Weise

5 Liam Downey

6 Jarod Healy

7 Steve Heim

8 Daniel Haas

9 Angus Cochrane

10 Josh Cronk

11 Allen Benaud

13 Jack Watson

14 Oliver Wittkopf

15 Eliot Dennis

16 Jamie Van Beek

17 Brady Cronk

18 Tim Hollingworth