T’IS officially the season to be jolly now that December has arrived, and The Gympie Times has a full list and map of where the best Christmas Lights can be seen in and around Gympie. Karen Grills has been decorating her house for Christmas in Gympie for 14 years. 20 Leonard St
T’IS officially the season to be jolly now that December has arrived, and The Gympie Times has a full list and map of where the best Christmas Lights can be seen in and around Gympie. Karen Grills has been decorating her house for Christmas in Gympie for 14 years. 20 Leonard St

From the Editor’s Desk: 5 top stories you might have missed

ANOTHER hot day in Gympie region today but it is officially the silly season now and there’s plenty to celebrate.

LOCAL NEWS AND REWARDS: $1 a week for the first 12 weeks

The heat is far from the only big news happening in this region:

46C! State to fry as heatwaves tumble

Shocking map reveals extent of bushfire devastation on Fraser Island

CLICK HERE: For today’s funeral and death notices

Karen Grills has been decorating her house for Christmas in Gympie for 14 years. 20 Leonard St
Karen Grills has been decorating her house for Christmas in Gympie for 14 years. 20 Leonard St

If you have a letter to the editor, or are involved in any sort of local sporting club or community organisation, please send us your letters, opinions and information, and we will publish them on our award winning website (which has 36,000 readers each week).

CLICK HERE: For today’s puzzles and horoscope

Please remember the OLD email addresses to The Gympie Times no longer work.

The new email addresses are:

General email address: gympietimes@news.com.au

Sport: gympietimessport@news.com.au

FULL LIST: Gympie’s best Christmas lights of 2020

WE'RE FOR YOU: The Gympie Times editor Shelley Strachan can be contacted on shelley.strachan@news.com.au or gympietimes@news.com.au
WE'RE FOR YOU: The Gympie Times editor Shelley Strachan can be contacted on shelley.strachan@news.com.au or gympietimes@news.com.au

Email editor Shelley Strachan at shelley.strachan@news.com.au

DUCK POND MAULING: ‘It was horrific...its spine was hanging out’

The Gympie Times deputy editor Frances Klein can be contacted on frances.klein@news.com.au
The Gympie Times deputy editor Frances Klein can be contacted on frances.klein@news.com.au

Email deputy editor Frances Klein at frances.klein@news.com.au

Man named and charged over bizarre body in ditch murder

Email senior reporter Scott Kovacevic at scott.kovacevic@news.com.au

Scott Kovacevic can be contacted on scott.kovacevic@news.com.au
Scott Kovacevic can be contacted on scott.kovacevic@news.com.au

HOT PROPERTY: The 10 biggest sales in the Mary Valley

Journalist Josh Preston of the Gympie Times enjoying Shannon's Chips at the Show. Josh can be contacted on joshua.preston@news.com.au
Journalist Josh Preston of the Gympie Times enjoying Shannon's Chips at the Show. Josh can be contacted on joshua.preston@news.com.au

Email reporter Joshua Preston at joshua.preston@news.com.au

MEGA GALLERY: 194 stunning photos from Gympie’s 2020 school formals

Email reporter Maddie Manwaring at maddie.manwaring@news.com.au

VOTE NOW: Who has got Gympie’s manliest moustache? Help us decide

And email our newest reporter Kristen Camp at kristen.camp@news.com.au

Take a look at these top mos. Which one would you crown the best in Gympie?
Take a look at these top mos. Which one would you crown the best in Gympie?

With Catholic schools breaking up this week and the state schools next week, our region’s hundreds of school teachers are counting down. It has been a huge year - a year unlike any other - and all school children and teachers deserve a well earned rest.

THE HEAT IS ON: 8 awesome places to cool off in the Gympie region

14 fabulous tracks and trails in the Gympie region

Relax. Enjoy. And I will catch you next time.

Shelley Strachan, Editor