Southend strikes at Corr to oust Millwall

AUSTRALIAN'S Shane Lowry and Scott McDonald won't be winning the FA Cup with Millwall this season after last year's semi-finalists suffered an embarrassing 4-1 defeat in its third round tie at Southend.

Southend, who play in League Two, two divisions below Millwall, led 3-0 at one stage on the way to securing a berth in the fourth round for the first time since 2008.

Barry Corr's (pictured) prolific scoring record in the competition continued after he gave Southend the lead with what was his ninth goal in his past 12 FA Cup games.

Elsewhere, four Premier League teams, Newcastle, seven-time Cup winner Aston Villa, West Brom and Tottenham, also made early exits.

Cardiff celebrated new manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's first game in charge by coming from behind to win 2-1 at Newcastle, Villa lost 2-1 at home to third tier side Sheffield United, Crystal Palace beat West Brom 2-0, and Tottenham lost 2-0 against Arsenal.

Fulham drew 1-1 at Norwich, Everton hammered Championship high-fliers QPR 4-0, Hull won 2-0 at Middlesbrough, and Stoke defeated Championship leader Leicester 2-1.

Defending champion Wigan started its title defence with a 3-3 draw at home against third-tier side MK Dons, while the team they beat 1-0 in the final, Manchester City, was held to a 1-1 draw at second-tier Blackburn Rovers.

The lowest-ranked team in the tournament, non-league Macclesfield, stayed alive after a 1-1 draw at home against second-tier Sheffield Wednesday, while fourth tier club Rochdale sent Championship side and 1972 FA Cup winner Leeds packing after a 2-0 win.