Lawrence Springborg
Lawrence Springborg DAN PELED

Springborg firms as favourite to lead LNP

LAWRENCE Springborg is firming as favourite to take over from Campbell Newman as leader of the Queensland LNP.

Sportsbet has installed the Member for Southern Downs as a $2.50 favourite for the top job.

RELATED: Fiona Simpson says she wants LNP leadership

Treasurer Tim Nicholls is second in the market at $3f ollowed by Scott Emerson ($4.50), John-Paul Langbroek ($8) and Fiona Simpson ($9).

Jeff Seeney was a $16 chance before announcing his withdrawal from the race this morning.

"The market would suggest it's a race in two between Springborg and Nicholls but whoever gets the gig will have a big job to do after such a shock election result," Sportsbet's Christian Jantzen said.

Who do you want as the LNP's new leader?

This poll ended on 07 February 2015.

Current Results

Former Treasurer Tim Nicholls


Former Health Minister Lawrence Springborg


Former Education Minister John-Paul Langbroek


Former Speaker Fiona Simpson


Former Attorney-General Jarrod Bleijie


Former Water and Energy Minister Mark McArdle


Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington


Former Transport Minister Scott Emerson


This is not a scientific poll. The results reflect only the opinions of those who chose to participate.