Kev Murphy Cultural Award Junior winner Jemma Grant and Senior winner McKeeley Makin.
Kev Murphy Cultural Award Junior winner Jemma Grant and Senior winner McKeeley Makin. Contributed

Stellar results mark a successful college year

THE following is an edited version of the speech given by new principal Karen Harrison at the St Patrick's College Commem Night last Friday:

My appointment to the role of principal at St Patrick's College is a privilege that has been filled by two others in the course of this academic year. We join a long line of principals beginning with Sr Anne O'Farrell at amalgamation in 1983 in leading this Catholic community.

2013 has again been a successful year for our learning community as this evening will attest. We are proud of our 2012 academic OP results, with two-thirds of our graduates achieving between an OP 1 and 10, and 86% between 1 and 15.

To complement this, 13 senior students sitting here tonight aim to complete a Certificate III or Diploma qualification and eight will complete their traineeship, further emphasising the college's focus on providing the right learning pathway for each student.

Our students and staff should feel proud of their efforts and achievements, as should the parents as partners of their child's learning. The students' commitment to lifelong learning will be an asset to them as inquisitive citizens.

There are many examples of the curricular and co - curricular activities available to our students. We have seen examples of these in the Gympie Times this week. Many of these are available because of the efforts of our committed staff who find, organise and manage these opportunities in promoting the spiritual, intellectual, emotional, social and physical development of each of our students.

This year we farewell two significant staff members who have contributed much to the college and our community. Daryl Wease will leave us to undertake a senior leadership position within the Townsville Diocese after 10 years of commitment to our community. His dedication and professionalism will be long remembered. Mary Condon, after 37 years of teaching in the primary and college contexts and contributing to state education policy for the disadvantaged, retires this year. Catherine McAuley saw her congregation as a means of giving life to the local church. And that is our community role too. We are an integral part of the Gympie Catholic Parish. Alongside Fr Pat and the Parish, the St Patrick's Primary school and the college form a Prep-Yr12 faith community with the church at its core. The values that we aspire to have our students living and witnessing are part of our Christianity.

The relationship between the primary school and the college has been further enriched by the preparations for the Year 7 students to move into secondary in 2015. We are focused on pastorally supporting these students and their parents in the "physical" move within our Prep-12 precinct. Staff are already planning programs and the foundations of our new industrial technology facility will be laid early next year. The growth of our community is exciting.

I have found awe in the history of our special college.

The beautiful Edmund Rice building celebrated 75 years this year with past students sharing their stories of the St Patrick's journey. It is an honour to be the sixth principal since the amalgamation of St Patrick's High School and the Christian Brothers College to create St Patrick's College.

I wish our 2013 graduates success in their future endeavours and I look forward to journeying with our continuing community members in 2014.

Major results:

Dux Jasmine Colley; VET student Rachel Marsh.

College captains Jessie Jabore and Patrick Connolly; P&F Trophy to SRC Dana Herberts; Champion House 2013 Rice.

Junior awards: Junior All Rounder Lucy Connolly; Junior Spiritual Tashar Hutchison; Kev Murphy Cultural Jemma Grant; SRC Junior School Spirit Maddison Bath; USQ Community Shannon O'Donnell, Yr 10 Long Tan Lucy Connolly.

Senior awards: Long Tan Yr 12 Patrick Connolly; Diligence Megan Bambling; Eve Boyle Improvement Alexander Smith; Merv King Environment Halena Scanlon; GHD Excellence in Design Maddie Sullivan and Sarah Moro; Kev Murphy Cultural Snr McKeely Makin; Wilf Tobin Spiritual Alana Toffoli; Caltex Best All Rounder Patrick Connolly; Rotary All Rounder Snr Jessie Jabore; Spirit of St Patrick's Jackson Plate; Bryan Baker Memorial Jessie Jabore; College Staff Award for Service to College Annie Van Oirschot.

Academic excellence: Yr 12 Tamika Anderson, Dana Herberts, Beth McKenna, Liam Mills; Yr 11 Henry Fredman, Hollier O'Neill, Lachlan Smith; Yr 10 Lucinda Connolly, Rushan Malek, Kirsten Kenney; Yr 9 Jesse Grant, Lily Dargusch-Haig, Prue Townsend-Webb; Yr 8 Sophie Ellaby, Jemma Grant, Mia Downes, Nicholas Ellems.

First place in subject: English Patrick Connolly, Dana Herberts, Beth McKenna; modern history Dana Herberts; geography Abbie Jarret; economics Beth McKenna, Dana Herberts; legal studies Beth McKenna; maths A Maddie Sullivan; maths B Jasmine Colley; maths C Jasmine Colley; chemistry Jasmine Colley; physics Jasmine Colley; biology Tamika Anderson; BCT Stephanie Perrett; physical education Tamika Anderson; graphics Maddie Sullivan, Jasmine Colley; technology studies Jayden Tappin; visual art Emilia Cilento and Sarah Moro; study of religion Beth McKenna; drama Patrick Connolly; music Jessie Jabore; FTV Emilia Cilento, English Com Megan Bambling; tourism Keely McKean; R&E Emilia Cilento; furnishing Tyler Brown; sport and recreation Jayden Tappin.