Three schools priority for flashing speed signs

TOP priority has been given to One Mile, Monkland and Gympie South State schools for flashing speed signs to be installed in their school speed zones.

Gympie Regional Council has compiled a list of local schools to be given priority in the $10 million, four-year State program to install flashing signs.

One Mile, Monkland and Gympie South are all located on State-controlled roads.

The schools on council-controlled roads to also make the list are:

  •  Old Maryborough Rd for Victory College;
  •  Cooinda St and Cartwright Rd for Gympie West State School;
  •  Lawrence St for Gympie Central Primary School;
  •  McIntosh Creek Rd for Jones Hill State School;
  •  Myall St for James Nash State High School;
  •  Calton Hill for St Patrick's College and primary.

Previous government policy was for flashing signs to be installed at "split campus" schools only, though the council was told this week "Transport and Main Roads already intends to install flashing signs on the Bruce Hwy for the Two Mile State School and on Cootharaba Rd for Gympie State High School".

The council had earlier turned down a State Government offer to have flashing signs installed on John St for One Mile School and Bligh St for St Patrick's College, which are both "split campus" schools.

"Both of these streets are traffic calmed, and measured vehicle speeds are less than 40kmh," a staff report says.

"Accordingly, council declined to accept the state's offer.

"The Minister for TMR has recently advised of some changes to the policy.

"It will now include 'risk-assessed' school zones as well as 'split campuses'."