The Thunnderkatz just a few days before the final, Paul Holmberg with the ball and Zac McClean in defence.
The Thunnderkatz just a few days before the final, Paul Holmberg with the ball and Zac McClean in defence.

Thunderkatz claw their way to victory

BASKETBALL: A dominant ThunderKatz has taken the Gympie basketball senior men's grand final 62-33 over Bobcats.

A good crowd filled the Pavilion on Monday night for the 6.30pm tip off.

Thunderkatz put a nine-game winning streak on the line in the penultimate game of the year against surprise qualifiers Bobcats, who had qualified in convincing fashion last week.

Thunderkatz won the opening tip and proceeded to score at will before Bobcats awoke from their slumber.

The Katz' James Adkins proved a handful on the paint and both Simon and Aaron Lodder hit early shots from beyond the arc to take the early ascendency.

The first quarter proved a cakewalk for Thunderkatz, before a second quarter revival from Bobcats drew the crowd into the game.

The comeback was led by tenacious defensive efforts by Bobcats veterans Miguel Galy, Curtis Dray, Matt Hudson and Matt Lally.

Jake Hulskamp then converted the intensity to scoreboard pressure and the game remained tight throughout the second and third quarters.

Thunderkatz teamwork came to the fore late in the third quarter and extended into the deciding stanza.

Nathan Kirwan and captain Jay Redshaw were the leaders of the resurgence.

Bobcats' failure to put points on the board forced them to take long-range jump shots to bridge the gap.

Zac McLean's three-point dagger midway through the fourth quarter, for the Katz, proved a turning point in the game and broke the Bobcats' resistance.

After the game the association held its season presentation.

Young gun Jesse Parsons from Huskies won the Encouragement Award.

Josh Bond was then presented with the Most Improved Award.

The playing group was also asked to nominate the 'Players Player' Award.

The award was not only based on ability but also on sportsmanship.

Leeroy Todd was the popular winner.

Michael Steinhardt and Luke Hauser shared the Most Valuable Player Award.