Letters to the Editor

Tue 15 Jan 2019

Why Mary Street's empty shop fronts are its biggest asset

premium_icon Why Mary Street's empty shop fronts are its biggest asset

Writer's vision for Mary Street needs high speed, reliable internet

Mon 14 Jan 2019

It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

premium_icon It’s time for the northern cyclone waters to be turned west

'It’s now time for the northern cyclone wasted waters to be turned west. It will cost, but will pay off for ever as large areas of drought prone Western land.'

'I'd become completely obsessed': Why resident quit Facebook

premium_icon 'I'd become completely obsessed': Why resident quit Facebook

'Then one day I woke up and realised I had a serious problem.'

Sun 13 Jan 2019

OPINION: Perrett's cheap point-scoring does not work

premium_icon OPINION: Perrett's cheap point-scoring does not work

Letter writer says all politicians go round in pointless tit for tat

Sat 12 Jan 2019

Dagun's sweat and tears means nothing in Rattler decision

premium_icon Dagun's sweat and tears means nothing in Rattler decision

'There is a real problem that needs to be addressed as we are a small community.'

Wed 9 Jan 2019

Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded a racist

premium_icon Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded a racist

I agree Nazi salutes aren’t the best way to go, but Senator Fraser Anning shouldn’t be branded racist for wanting effective Australian border protection.

Mon 7 Jan 2019

Hey council: sexy social media won't cut it over dirty loos

premium_icon Hey council: sexy social media won't cut it over dirty loos

'Sexy social and mass media campaigns don't cut it if your bins are overflowing, toilets are dirty and grass in parks is long'

Summer flu numbers hit five year high

premium_icon Summer flu numbers hit five year high

"We must remain vigilant during 2019 because, as we've seen in the past, flu can occur at any time of the year and every flu season can be different”

Fri 4 Jan 2019

Sceptics eagerly await Rattler's first profit/loss statement

premium_icon Sceptics eagerly await Rattler's first profit/loss statement

Unless I missed it, there has been no bull-rush of local businesses declaring similar windfalls to the Great Eastern from the Rattler: letter

Thu 3 Jan 2019

Police and media have a bias against gun owners

premium_icon Police and media have a bias against gun owners

Shooting inanimate targets is a great, exacting sport. Shooters destroying pest animals is efficient and more humane than poisons, traps and abattoirs

Trust in Mayor eroded by secrecy, refusal to answer queries

premium_icon Trust in Mayor eroded by secrecy, refusal to answer queries

It is the community's trust that Mayor Mick Curran is eroding by conducting business in the shadows of a closed chamber.

Tue 1 Jan 2019

'Dogs seeking to escape fireworks have been found impaled'

premium_icon 'Dogs seeking to escape fireworks have been found impaled'

Letter: When are we going to start behaving like grown-ups by finding other ways to amuse ourselves on New Years Eve?

Sun 30 Dec 2018

OPINION: 'Silent majority scared of getting beaten up'

premium_icon OPINION: 'Silent majority scared of getting beaten up'

'Most activists I know are just as one-eyed as the rest of us'

Sat 29 Dec 2018

OPINION: 'Dump fees are daylight robbery'

premium_icon OPINION: 'Dump fees are daylight robbery'

'Let's add fees to the dumps and see how much we can drain the ratepayers'

Tue 25 Dec 2018

Opinion: Fuel giant rips off Gympie customers

premium_icon Opinion: Fuel giant rips off Gympie customers

'Where there is no competition Woolies feel free to rip you off to the max.'

Thu 20 Dec 2018

Bluesfest paid parking fury: 'We want a refund'

premium_icon Bluesfest paid parking fury: 'We want a refund'

LOYAL punters are seeking advice from NSW Fair Trading after Bluesfest's controversial decision to introduce paid parking at next year's event.

Mon 17 Dec 2018

'Respect, affection': Daughter's tribute to aged care staff

premium_icon 'Respect, affection': Daughter's tribute to aged care staff

I consider myself to be a hard worker, compassionate and caring, yet my admiration sits very solidly with these staff members.

Shooting range solution could lie with Gympie region farmers

premium_icon Shooting range solution could lie with Gympie region farmers

Personally I'll support anything to keep as many cyclists as possible off the roads where they're often an inconsiderate nuisance: letter

Sun 16 Dec 2018

'Gympie's country roads need better vegetation management'

premium_icon 'Gympie's country roads need better vegetation management'

Letter: It's one of the sad things I see as I travel around

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Cats are 'huge health concern' for humans

premium_icon Cats are 'huge health concern' for humans

FREE roaming cats are of a huge health concern to many individuals (up to 10% of the human population) and they are disgusting vectors for disease.

Newer Older