Letters to the Editor

Fri 15 Mar 2019

YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

premium_icon YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

The second in writers series about the crisis engulfing the Darling River system

Sun 10 Mar 2019

We live 10km from Mary St, council has never done our road

premium_icon We live 10km from Mary St, council has never done our road

'We live 10km from the main street and the council has never done our road'

Sat 9 Mar 2019

Anger as 11 drivers blatantly ignore busy Mary St Stop sign

premium_icon Anger as 11 drivers blatantly ignore busy Mary St Stop sign

'I witnessed 11 cars go straight through the Stop sign without stopping'

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

premium_icon Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

'For years I could not accept death penalty because of guilt that I would carry around. Could I have lived with that person's death on my soul?'

Mon 4 Mar 2019

Sneaky Veteran residents warned stop dumping their rubbish

premium_icon Sneaky Veteran residents warned stop dumping their rubbish

Some North Deep Creek Rd residents have been put on notice for dumping their rubbish in other people's nearby bins

Sun 3 Mar 2019

Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

premium_icon Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

'Our deep pain was that we had to watch on as she endured that dark creep of confusion; observing the great fear in her eyes as her world collapsed'

Medical fears for Cooloola Cove, Tin Can Bay residents

premium_icon Medical fears for Cooloola Cove, Tin Can Bay residents

Aged, vulnerable and sick people on Cooloola Coast are not calling ambulance until they are desperately ill because of the cost of a taxi home

Sat 2 Mar 2019

Why won't council allow a review of rural road management?

premium_icon Why won't council allow a review of rural road management?

Gympie councillors Smerdon and Fredman, whose divisions cover the rural areas of the Mary Valley and South Burnett, have tried to get a review of rural roads

Fri 1 Mar 2019

Gympie region opinions 'thought provoking and inspirational'

premium_icon Gympie region opinions 'thought provoking and inspirational'

OPINION: Brendan Allen, Lori Write, Julia Lawrence, Dave Freeman and Shelley Strachan all touched this reader with their opinion pieces on regional issues

Dragged-out Ben Currie investigation damaging to racing

premium_icon Dragged-out Ben Currie investigation damaging to racing

OPINION: For at least 10 months Currie has continued to train on "stays of proceedings” awarded by QCAT - and it appears he could do so indefinitely.

Wed 27 Feb 2019

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

Is the Jaguar I-Pace better than a Tesla?

With the recent launch of the new Jaguar I-Pace electric SUV our readers wonder if it is superior to tesla’s ‘falcon-wing’ doored family hauler.

Sat 23 Feb 2019

OPINION: Gympie needs to save its private hospital

premium_icon OPINION: Gympie needs to save its private hospital

Our Mayor, MPs and media need to get on board and organise a public meeting: letter

Thu 21 Feb 2019

Assault opens 72yo Gympie protester's eyes to male violence

premium_icon Assault opens 72yo Gympie protester's eyes to male violence

It was an insight into how women and children must feel when they are attacked by someone bigger, stronger and with a warped view of how the world should be

Mon 18 Feb 2019

Opinion on Gympie school bullying leaves writer gob-smacked

premium_icon Opinion on Gympie school bullying leaves writer gob-smacked

OPINION: We have moved on a long way from when we thought we could settle an argument with physical violence

Councils have bad name but the rot is at the top - the LGAQ

premium_icon Councils have bad name but the rot is at the top - the LGAQ

Letter: We really need strong people who can start to reverse the power that the Local Government Association seems to have over local councils in Queensland

Sat 16 Feb 2019

Wed 13 Feb 2019

OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

premium_icon OPINION: School fight a symptom of some students' home life

OPINION: While I am horrified at this being filmed and others just watching, I think that this behaviour is a symptom of the home life some of them have.

Mon 11 Feb 2019

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Buy a prestige SUV that never goes off-road — or get a luxe wagon that looks equally classy at the golf club

Sun 10 Feb 2019

Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

premium_icon Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

This organisation solved many crimes and was a respected and viable asset to our under-manned police service.

Sat 9 Feb 2019

LETTER: Dagun snubbed, insulted, not consulted, disrespected

premium_icon LETTER: Dagun snubbed, insulted, not consulted, disrespected

LETTER: Hard work and dedication has received the ultimate insult.

Newer Older