Letters to the Editor

Fri 31 May 2019

Land clearing nothing more than self-suffocation

premium_icon Land clearing nothing more than self-suffocation

Gympie letter writer says we are leaving the land to die.

Mon 27 May 2019

Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

premium_icon Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

AUSTRALIA, open your eyes. The Four Corners program highlighted the result of years of turning a blind eye to proper discipline through parenting and schooling.

Sun 26 May 2019

Perrett retaliates after being called 'nong' by MP neighbour

premium_icon Perrett retaliates after being called 'nong' by MP neighbour

You know the Member is in strife when he resorts to petty name calling. It is the only thing he knows and this latest rant shows just how out of touch he is.

Sat 25 May 2019

Workers were fooled into voting against their own interests

premium_icon Workers were fooled into voting against their own interests

We can expect wages to keep on stagnating, and another round of penalty rate cuts on July 1

Fri 24 May 2019

Gympie election day tolerance only blighted by anti-vaxers

premium_icon Gympie election day tolerance only blighted by anti-vaxers

OPINION: 2 Anti-Vaccine Party volunteers descended upon us for a short period and started to preach their single-issue stance to all that could not run away

Thu 23 May 2019

There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

premium_icon There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

SO THERE’S now two reported incidents of gel blasters aimed at people. It makes one bristle at the thought of anyone’s eyes being damaged in any way.

Mon 20 May 2019

Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

premium_icon Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

At pre-polling in Toowoomba last week, this letter writer spoke to an LNP member who was concerned about how much acting on climate change will cost.

Sat 18 May 2019

I'm not confused: Hartwig dumps on Curran explanation

premium_icon I'm not confused: Hartwig dumps on Curran explanation

'I read with interest statements by the Mayor that I have had some confusion over the waste levy'

Fri 17 May 2019

Bolt's 'frothing at the mouth, bug eyed rant' made me laugh

premium_icon Bolt's 'frothing at the mouth, bug eyed rant' made me laugh

OPINION: If Labor wins it will be a remarkable triumph over an antagonistic media that has run a vicious unprecedented, anti-Labor agenda

Mon 13 May 2019

'I have nightmares over the idea of Bill Shorten as PM'

premium_icon 'I have nightmares over the idea of Bill Shorten as PM'

"I OFTEN have nightmares about what will happen to Australia if the ALP wins this election."

Sun 12 May 2019

OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

premium_icon OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

I am not remotely interested in Mr Shorten's family, what his parents were or how they lived.

Sat 11 May 2019

Fredman a year on: I've done my best to make presence felt

premium_icon Fredman a year on: I've done my best to make presence felt

Fredman: The Rattler is here to stay and all I can push for is better accountability for the ongoing costs to ratepayers

Letter writer's brutal attack on Gympie business community

premium_icon Letter writer's brutal attack on Gympie business community

OPINION: I suggest there's little point in having discussions about the future as long as the local business lobby hijacks such events

Fri 10 May 2019

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

"AS A partner of an interstate heavy vehicle driver my biggest fear every time he walks out the door is he won’t be coming home again."

Wed 8 May 2019

Gympie grandma says Belgravia rules ruin pool experience

premium_icon Gympie grandma says Belgravia rules ruin pool experience

OPINION: Over-zealous Belgravia pool management is spoiling the experience for locals. Gympie council should replace Belgravia once contract runs out

Mon 6 May 2019

AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

premium_icon AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

An open letter to Australian politicians and councillors - you are missing one very important environmental policy in your election promises

Sun 5 May 2019

Stop whingeing Australia - you have already won the lotto

premium_icon Stop whingeing Australia - you have already won the lotto

OPINION: You may grumble about elections, but it's part of our wonderful democracy the nation that we should be grateful to and proud of.

Fri 3 May 2019

Gympie bridge tragedy highlights its inadequacies

premium_icon Gympie bridge tragedy highlights its inadequacies

OPINION: A bridge which has no pedestrian crossing? A city without a single bicycle lane? Am I missing something?

Wed 1 May 2019

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

'There are a lot of people getting rich on the back of mining projects but it's almost never the people who live in the vicinity of them.'

OPINION: Time for a public meeting on the Gympie Bypass

premium_icon OPINION: Time for a public meeting on the Gympie Bypass

While the need to save lives is the main reason for the Gympie Bypass, good planning and design decisions also have a huge effect on economic growth

Newer Older