Sport Opinion

Fri 6 Dec 2019

10 Blues who will define Silvagni’s legacy

premium_icon 10 Blues who will define Silvagni’s legacy

It’s how these 10 players develop over the coming seasons that will have a big say on how Stephen Silvagni will be remembered.

Thu 5 Dec 2019

Will Folau play again? Will Castle survive RA axe?

premium_icon Will Folau play again? Will Castle survive RA axe?

There are still many questions to be answered despite the multi-million settlement between Israel Folau and Rugby Australia on Wednesday.

Wed 4 Dec 2019

Bravo, Izzy, my faith has been restored

premium_icon Bravo, Izzy, my faith has been restored

The former Wallaby fought, and won, against an organisation that battered him from pillar to post all while simply standing up for what he believes in.

Little wonder Aussie Test fortunes are on the up

premium_icon Little wonder Aussie Test fortunes are on the up

Australia is a great example of how simply standing still can aid your Test cause.

Tue 3 Dec 2019

From world’s best to NRL’s most unwanted

premium_icon From world’s best to NRL’s most unwanted

Seven months ago he was rugby league’s poster boy. Now Latrell Mitchell is the player nobody wants. But what has he done wrong, asks Mike Colman.

Kent: Folau decision in lap of the gods

premium_icon Kent: Folau decision in lap of the gods

Folau began Monday’s mediation hearing in Melbourne with a prayer outside court.

Wed 27 Nov 2019

Why Gillett doesn’t make my team of the decade

premium_icon Why Gillett doesn’t make my team of the decade

Former Rugby League Week editor Tony Durkin spent plenty of time at Red Hill over the years, and he can’t find a place for Matt Gillett in the team.

Tue 26 Nov 2019

The Latrell circus has to end now

premium_icon The Latrell circus has to end now

The time has come for Latrell Mitchell to stop agonising over his future, decide what drives him as a player and where he can achieve that.

Mon 25 Nov 2019

Groth: Davis Cup is ‘officially dead’

premium_icon Groth: Davis Cup is ‘officially dead’

Sam Groth writes tennis’ new-look format is in danger of becoming a fizzer.

Monday Buzz: Secret changes NRL doesn’t want you to know

premium_icon Monday Buzz: Secret changes NRL doesn’t want you to know

New rugby league independent commission chairman Peter V’landys has threatened to sack anyone who leaks this information.

Sun 24 Nov 2019

Rugby league’s best father-son combinations

premium_icon Rugby league’s best father-son combinations

Who is the best father and son combination in rugby league history? We count down from 15 to 1.

KOs, feuds, crashes: Supercars’ wildest season

premium_icon KOs, feuds, crashes: Supercars’ wildest season

JAMES PHELPS and REBECCA WILLIAMS go behind the scenes to reveal the fights and the feuds, the dunces and the drama that defined 2019.

Sat 23 Nov 2019

Ultimate guide to the AFL draft’s top-20

premium_icon Ultimate guide to the AFL draft’s top-20

How will the first round of the AFL national draft play out on Wednesday? Draft expert Chris Cavanagh uses his intel to predict the first 20 selections.

Fri 22 Nov 2019

Craddock: Time for cricket to get out of the stone age

premium_icon Craddock: Time for cricket to get out of the stone age

In tennis, a sensor tells you when a serve is out. In soccer, there are systems in place to definitively tell you whether a goal has been scored or not.

Thu 21 Nov 2019

Why Warner ban is now self defeating

premium_icon Why Warner ban is now self defeating

The rest of the world has wiped the slate clean for David Warner, but yet the 33-year-old is serving a leadership life sentence in Australia.

Ikin names his Broncos team of the decade

premium_icon Ikin names his Broncos team of the decade

Ben Ikin played the first of his 55 games for Brisbane at centre, but it was that position that gave him most problems picking the Broncos Team of the Decade.

Wed 20 Nov 2019

Burning questions ahead of first Test

Burning questions ahead of first Test

Australia are still aiming to consolidate their top six batting order, while Mitchell Starc has a point to prove ahead of the home summer.

Tue 19 Nov 2019

Premiership clock: Is your club ready to strike?

premium_icon Premiership clock: Is your club ready to strike?

We take a look at every club and assess just how close we think they might be to footy’s ultimate prize.

Sun 17 Nov 2019

When will we see Socceroos young gun again?

When will we see Socceroos young gun again?

Daniel Arzani was ready to take the world by storm when he suffered a knee injury in his Celtic debut more than 12 months ago ... now he's had a setback.

Fri 15 Nov 2019

Will Pucovski is the hero young men need right now

premium_icon Will Pucovski is the hero young men need right now

Our country’s most exciting young batting prospect was set to be named in Australia’s squad for next week’s First Test.

Newer Older